Colleen Atwood-Alice in Wonderland

I had the pleasure of seeing Alice in Wonderland on my birthday with my younger sister. We are such thread heads that the whole movie we were commenting on how creative the costumes were! I had to find out right away who was responsible for my Haute attack! After a quick search I found out Colleen Atwood was responsible for the ingenious designs in Alice in Wonderland and many other films I like. Her designs have been featured in Nine*, Public Enemies, Memoirs of a Geisha*, Big Fish*, Chicago*, Planet of the Apes, Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events*,The Mexican, Sleepy Hollow, Little Women, etc.

*=I love this movie!
She won an Academy Award for Best Achievement in Costume Designer for her work in Memoirs of a Geisha, and Chicago and is also a six time nominee. Over the years she has brought countless characters to life with her imaginative and innovative designs. I admire her ability to create such elaborate costumes with such little knowledge about the characters themselves. Colleen said herself, “Costumes are the first impression that you have of the character before they open their mouth-it really does establish who they are.”

Take a look at some of her amazing work:

Well I hope you enjoy her work my fellow fashionistas! Become a fan of Colleen Atwood on Facebook!

Published in: on March 22, 2010 at 3:44 AM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stitchedlove.wordpress.com/2010/03/22/colleen-atwood-alice-in-wonderland/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

